Commission for Women (Monday, September 16, 2019)

Generated by Debra Kane on Tuesday, October 1, 2019

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Erin Walker, Chair at 5:31pm

2. ROLL CALL

Erin Walker, Chair Katie Werner, Secretary Jennifer Brown Joanna Colvin Marta Kelsey Mary Ludwig Juanita Nether

Katherine Stone

Norman Pipkin, Guest

ALisa Casas, Guest Speaker

B. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

I move to approve the minutes from the August 12, 2019 meeting.

Motion by: Mary Ludwig Second by: Juanita Nether

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Erin Walker, Katie Werner, Jennifer Brown, Joanna Colvin, Marta Kelsey

Mary Ludwig, Juanita Nether, Katherine Stone

3. PRESENTATION

A. Guest Speaker - ALisa Casas, St. Mary's County PIO

4. COMMITTEE REPORT(S)

- A. Family Violence Coordinating Council (FVCC)
- B. National Women's History Project- 100th Anniversary Celebration
- C. Healthy Relationships Initiative

5. OLD BUSINESS

- A. Budget
- B. Approval of Elections

Revised 10/22/2019 BoardDocs® Plus

Page 2 of 2

I move to approve the elections of officers as follows: Erin Walker, Chair, Rose Frederick, Vice Chair, Katie Werner, Secretary

Motion by: Marta Kelsey Second by: Joanna Colvin

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Erin Walker, Katie Werner, Jennifer Brown, Joanna Colvin, Marta Kelsey

Mary Ludwig, Juanita Nether, Katherine Stone

6. NEW BUSINESS

A. Women's History Banquet FY2020

I move to nominate the keynote speaker for the March 19, 2020 Women's History Month Banquet as Jeannine Heynes.

Motion by: Marta Kelsey Second by: Mary Ludwig

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Erin Walker, Katie Werner, Jennifer Brown, Joanna Colvin, Marta Kelsey

Mary Ludwig, Juanita Nether, Katherine Stone

I move to nominate Mary Lu Bucci as Lifetime Achievement Award Winner for the FY2020 Women's History Banquet

Motion by: Mary Ludwig Second by: Joanna Colvin

Final Resolution: Motion was tabled pending acceptance of invitation.

By: Consensus

B. Proclamation of Domestic Violence Awareness Month

C. Voices of Women in America National Survey

7. ADJOURN

I move to adjourn the meeting at 7:15pm

Motion by: Mary Ludwig Second by: Juanita Nether

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Erin Walker, Katie Werner, Jennifer Brown, Joanna Colvin, Marta Kelsey

Mary Ludwig, Juanita Nether, Katherine Stone